Skip to product information
1 of 4

New Writers Showcase Tickets – Thursday 29 February 2024

New Writers Showcase Tickets – Thursday 29 February 2024

Regular price £2.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £2.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Date: Thursday 29 February 2024

Location: Assembly Roxy, 2 Roxburgh Place, Edinburgh EH8 9SU

Sponsored by Hampden & Co

Join Heather Parry for readings from our 2023 New Writers Awardees, then take their words home with our New Writing Sampler.

Every year, the New Writers Awards spotlight an amazing array of new writing talent in Scotland. Now is your chance to hear the 2023 awardees read from their own work at our fabulous showcase.

On the night

Doors will open at 7pm. After the readings you are welcome to stay for drinks and a dance until 11pm.

Masks are welcome and socially distant seating will be available near the back of the room. We can also reserve seats for anyone who needs them for accessibility reasons. Please get in touch if you have any access questions or issues. You'll also find the Assembly Roxy's accessibility information online.

You will be able to buy books from previous and current awardees on the night, thanks to help from the incredible Lighthouse Books and Gaelic Books Council.

Spotlighting our new writers

The prestigious judging panel had the hard task of selecting our talented awardees from hundreds of entries.

Our panellists included Janette Ayachi and Nick Makoha on Poetry, Laura Kay, Katalina Watt and Jacob Ross on Fiction and Narrative Non-fiction, Kiran Millwood-Hargrave and Benjamin Dean on Children's and YA, as well as Matthew Fitt and Victoria McNulty on Scots and Tawona Sithole and Hollie McNish on Spoken Word. The Gaelic Books Council selects the Gaelic New Writers Awardees.

Photos by Kat Gollock.

The New Writers Awards showcase is generously sponsored by Hampden & Co. Hampden & Co provides highly personalised banking for individuals, their families and businesses.  Visit to find out more.

The New Writers Awards is more broadly supported by Creative Scotland, the Russell Trust, the Dr David Summers Trust, Garrick Charitable Trust, Badenoch Trust and the William Grant Foundation.

View full details